The Monthly Visit


We had Roman’s monthly visit at Children’s Hospital to have him checked out and get his meds for the next month last week.  It included the bimonthly blood draw.  He was not very excited by the notion.  We had to pin him on the bed while his blood (slowly) filled three vials.  Poor guy.  The nurse checked his vitals, gave us the medicine and sent us on our way.  The visit took a whole 45 minutes, but the drive took two hours each way.  Fun times, let me tell you.

We did receive the report from the psychologists and psychiatrist who tested Roman when the study started at his baseline visit.  His performance had gone up since the last time he had the some of the testing done.  The first section of the report went over the Vineland Adaptive Behavior Scale.  He scored overall in the moderately low range.  All of the categories except written communication and motor skills were below the adequate range.  In particular, the receptive and expressive categories rated his age equivalent at 1 year and 3 months to 1 year and 4 months.

The next portion of the testing was the Autism Diagnostic Interview.  Back in November, I was interviewed for a good hour and a half.  The summary of this interview was simply that Roman met the cutoffs for a classification of autism in the areas of communication, social interaction, restricted and repetitive behavior.  Well, duh.

The rest was more of the same.  Not that I expected any different, I guess.  How many times can you be told your child has autism?  Okay, I believe it already.

This entry was posted in The drug trial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Monthly Visit

  1. jillsmo says:

    I’m fairly certain that whenever blood is being drawn from your child time actually stops, and occasionally even goes backwards.

    But, yeah, it’s always fun to be reminded that the original diagnosis is correct, right? So fun.

  2. crystal says:

    My son, also named Roman has autism. We are thinking of participating in the exact same trial. Do you recommend this treatment? I can’t find any more posts but I am computer challenged so maybe I am just missing something. Should we do it?

    • I would recommend it. Our Roman has come so far in the past year. His testing from the beginning of the trial and the end were like night and day. He’s now playing imaginatively (though not often) and sometimes cooperatively. He doesn’t ignore his peers anymore, although he is still socially awkward. His speech has progressed more than we would have expected without the buspirone. He didn’t even attempt speech really at teh beginning, now he tries to say everything, even if his “words” are still more approximations, some people understand him. He’s really taken to using an iPad, which I also highly recommend, especially if your Roman is speech deficient. There is an awesome assisted speech app called Proloquo2Go. It’s pricey, but so worth it. If you can afford an iPad, look into it. There are also several other ABA apps that have really helped our Roman. Feel free to email me at allison.frohriep@gmail.com if you want to. I love to meet other parents of children with autism, especially those with such good taste in names 😉

      • crystal says:

        We do have limited speech. Our Roman is going to be 6 in December. His fave thing is letters and alphabet. He loves to spell words on the fridge magnets (He started spelling at two) and his verbal I sware I owe to baby Bumblebee videos!!! They say the word ,show kids acting out the word and show the written word. From what I understand it is similar to my baby can read. Our speech therapist at 2 when he had not interest in speech said that when he realizes if he doesn’t talk he doesn’t get it you will get results in the language dept. I knew he could say juice. So I would stand in front of him for hours saying I want.. I want.. I want he would throw tantrums and scream and give me the look I persisted, I want I want until he finally said juice. I felt so mean. Each child is very different so don’t be discouraged! Speaking of we just got him potty trained at 5. UGGH I feel for you. The hardest thing I have ever ever done. Keep trying though because the older he gets the more stubborness you will face at the routine change. I have to run but I do have some questions for you. Thanks for updating the blog and your speedy reply!

Leave a Reply

