Cohabitation woes


The boys share a bedroom.  We have no choice.  We live in a three bedroom house and Tanis has the third bedroom.  Roman is like many autistic children in that sleep usually eludes him for many hours after bedtime.  Tycen just wants to go to bed and Roman spends his time jumping on his brother, kicking him and laughing.  Of course, it doesn’t help that Tycen has a tendency to laugh at anything “naughty” that Roman does.  So, Tycen can’t stand being bullied by Roman, but he still laughs at it, which eggs Roman on.

Eric and I are at an impasse.  I want to let Tycen sleep on the couch indefinitely.  Eric says that’s just not an option.  I don’t know what else to do.  My mom had the kids overnight this week because Eric and I had to attend his grandma’s funeral and visitation down in Centreville.  She separated the boys and took the light bulbs out of the room Roman was sleeping in.  Then, she Supernannied Roman, putting him back in bed and holding him there several times over before he fell asleep.  I don’t know if it was because Roman responded better to her than he would to me, or if it would really work.  It couldn’t hurt to try, right?

On a completely unrelated note, I am feeling as miserable as I have ever felt.  I have been blessed with a nasty case of Shingles.  I don’t know what I did to cross the gods, but apparently I’ve been a very bad girl if karma is a real thing.  I’m worried that Roman could end up with Chicken Pox since he’s only had one of two vaccinations for it.  I can’t imagine what it would be like to try to soothe an autistic Chicken Pox patient.  Everyone tells me not to worry about it because it’s unlikely that it will happen, but anyone that’s known me for awhile knows there’s one truth:  If something can happen, it will happen to me (or my family).  So, I’m waiting for the two week incubation period and expecting Chicken Pox.  Wouldn’t that just be the cherry on the sundae that is my life right now?

Sorry to be such a downer.  It’s just really hard to sit here in so much pain and put a positive spin on things so I’m not going to even try.

This entry was posted in Family life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

