Leave it to Beaver


I have taken to calling Roman my little beaver lately.  He won’t stop chewing on furniture.  His favorite happens to be wood.  It’s difficult to find a wood surface in this house without teeth marks in it.  It may be a stim or just an oral fixation.  Whatever it is, it’s plenty annoying.  He has a chewy to use and we try to redirect him to the chewy, but it only works for so long.

Tycen's bedpost as marked by the beaver.

I don’t know what the draw of wood is.  Is he lacking fiber?  Does wood even have fiber?  No, I realize it’s just something somewhat soft, yet hard enough to make a good chew toy.  The question is, what can I do about it.  Can he get slivers in his mouth from chewing on all the wood in our house?  Or is it harmless yet destructive?

I can do my best to redirect, but it’s not always feasible.  He chews on Tycen’s bedpost in the middle of the night.  As soon as I leave him in the living room, he’s attached like a lamprey to the TV stand.  I can’t possibly spend every single moment glued to him as his own personal wood guardian.

Our chewed TV stand

He’s not picky about wood either.  Although he does prefer the wood, he’s also chewing on the upholstery.  There’s a spot on the couch that’s nearly gnawed through.  I’ve come to terms with the fact that I will never have anything nice.  That’s okay with me, at least for now.  But I think this behavior is dangerous.

I’ve been told to try the nail biter’s polish on the wood.  That would make it taste bad when he chews it.  I guess I could, but I’d be painting every wooden surface in my house with the stuff.  I don’t know what else to do, so I’m turning to you, my loyal readers.  I need help!

 

edited to add:  What about these?

This entry was posted in issues and concerns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Leave it to Beaver

  1. i also would expect the nail biter polish to move him off wood on to other stuff and it could lead to more damaged upolstery

    in our case he does not chew wood just stuff that can fit in or approximately in his mouth. While we try to stop it as best we can we also are expecting to wait it out as much as we can while trying to correct it as much as possible.

    with our son he does change his behaviours and stuff like this goes away (eventually) only to be replaced by something else and that something else is not always easier to deal with either. With it being wood i would be kind of concerned for splinters myself but there is only so much you can do to monitor even at the best of times

  2. Big Daddy says:

    I am at a loss! Edible furniture?

  3. Ellen Cicconi says:

    I wonder if he has pica? http://kidshealth.org/parent/emotions/behavior/pica.html Both of my ASD kids did things like this — chewing our kitchen chairs, plaster, etc. and getting them some extra zinc seemed to help, which makes me think they had pica.

    • Allison's Mom says:

      The comment about Pica was interesting. Maybe Roman comes by eating non-foods naturally; you had a fixation with sand. I figured the sandbox lost at least a quart of sand and thank goodness I had not studied about all the dreaded parasites until after your craving for sand ended. The fixation did pass after a year or so.

Leave a Reply

