Word explosion!


When I got the report from school today, I was a little disappointed.

“No new words,” Katie told me.  “Just more ‘mom’ and ‘no’ and ‘bye'”

I hope my dismay wasn’t as obvious as it seemed to me.  As you have probably figured out by now, I am expecting a miracle.  We’ve just seen so much progress in the last few days that I get discouraged when I don’t hear new words.

We arrived home from school and I settled the kids in.  No words.  I started dinner and we ate.  No words.  I didn’t even hear a “mom” or a “no”.  I took some time to read over Roman’s IEP (Individualized Educational Plan) report.  He was working towards his goals at the rate the school district representatives told me he would.  The problem is I am expecting more.  After I was done with that, I still heard no more words.

Tycen got his book order in at school today and brought home new books for everyone.  Tanis begged me to read “Santa Duck”.  So, I settled in with her on my lap.  When Roman saw this, he had to climb aboard to see what we were reading.  At the end of the book, Santa Duck snuggles in to bed.  Rome pointed at the picture.

“Thassaduk”

I didn’t believe what I heard.  I looked at Eric, who was sitting across the living room from us.  He smiled and I knew what I had heard.

“He said ‘that’s a duck'” Even with Eric’s words, I had a hard time believing it.  He said “That’s a duck”!  I tried in vain to get him to say it again.  Just say “duck,” I begged.  Roman was uninterested.  I would have to settle for a one time performance.

"Thassaduk"

More words came late, though.  We were getting ready for bed and he told me he was “done” with his toothbrush.  A few minutes later, he took his visual schedule, pointed to the picture of the bed and said “bed”.  Wow!  Just a week ago, we would hear a word or two a week, and that wasn’t a guarantee.  Now, we’re getting more words in a day than we might have heard in a month.  It’s just amazing.  My boy is breaking through!

This entry was posted in New Skills and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Word explosion!

  1. HeatherB says:

    Wow! I am just so incredibly happy right now. This puts a huge smile on my face, way to go Roman!!!

  2. Bobbie says:

    WAHOO!! I love it when Deeds gets out those new words and is now starting to really use phrases. Every time we hear something new it’s like Christmas!

  3. Beth says:

    WOW!!! You brought tears to my eyes reading that… You must be so happy!

Leave a Reply

