Night night Roman


Bedtime is a struggle.  I don’t think this is unique to children on the autism spectrum.  Roman will not go to sleep.  He gets put to bed around 7:30 and is up until at least 9:30.  Some nights he doesn’t drift off until after 11.  However, there was an upside tonight.

After completing his bedtime schedule, we came to the icon for bed.  Roman took it and put it into place, meaning it was time for bed.  Immediately after, he turned to me and said “No!”.  Let me repeat that, he SAID “No!”.  For a mostly non-verbal kid who has very recently been spitting out more words, each one is a blessing.

When I walked him to his room he followed, albeit grudgingly.

“Night, night Roman”

I leaned over and gave him a kiss then kissed his older brother goodnight too.

“No!”

It was Roman again, saying no for the second time!

I had to ignore his new favorite word, but secretly threw a gigantic party inside my brain.  My boy was talking!!!

Next, I had to tuck Tanis into bed.  Hearing Roman jabbering from across the hall, I laughed a little.  It was going to be another late bedtime for my night owl.  We’re fine with that, as long as he stays in his room.  However, that rule was about to be forgotten by my defiant one.

While I settled in to baking cookies in the kitchen, I heard little padded feet running down the hallway in my direction.

“Mom!”

It was another WORD! I wanted to pick my boy up and hug him, but it was time for bed.  As if reading my mind, he opened his mouth.

“No!”

This entry was posted in New Skills and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Night night Roman

  1. jillsmo says:

    I don’t think it’s unique to kids on spectrum but I know they are notoriously bad sleepers all around. We use Melatonin; one sub-lingual spray (1 mg) every night and he’s asleep within 30 minutes, otherwise he would be up way past midnight and he will still wake up by 7:30 no matter what time he goes to sleep. We only use it on school nights, it’s okay if he’s tired on the weekends, I guess?

  2. ShannonShy says:

    It is so exciting to hear of all Roman’s words at home! I bet “mom” was music to your ears! By the way, “mom” is 25% of “I love you, mom.” Roman is a quarter of the way there!

  3. Miranda says:

    Amazing! I’m so happy for you!! It must of been such a struggle to stick to your schedule when you really just want to celebrate his words with him!

  4. Jessica says:

    I second the melatonin, we have used it off and on for years. How great that his speech is increasing, nothing better than hearing Mom!

    • I just found out he can’t take the melatonin while he’s in the drug trial. There’s nothing else he can take either. I don’t think I would give him anything else anyway. Guess we have to wait this out.

Leave a Reply

