He’s on a roll


Words!  We have words today!  I’m not just talking about one, either.  Before breakfast was over Roman had told Eric both “no” and “yeah” when requesting what he wanted to eat.  He has used the words before, but not with any kind of regularity.  As I’ve mentioned before, his words come and go.  I was a little too busy cleaning the couch (yeah, you don’t want me to get into that) to celebrate at the time, but Eric did a fine job encouraging our budding talker.

Then, Eric was out the door.  My husband works two jobs to support our family and he was off to the second one, refereeing high school basketball.  Roman climbed up on the back of the couch to watch his daddy pull out of the driveway.  He rapidly waved both arms, shouting “bye” as the little white Toyota left.  I gave my boy a big hug and he smiled, knowing that he had done a good thing.  Tolerating my embrace for only a moment, he pushed away to catch up on the five minutes of Sesame Street he had missed.

At snack time, I grabbed his PECS book and gave him the choice between an apple, a banana, or potato chips.  Of course, he picked the chips.  I was in the kitchen, grabbing a bowl for his snack when I heard “CHIPS!” come from the other room.  That was the fourth word of the day and it was barely 9:30!

Now, I know that it’s too early in the Buspirone trial to attribute the speech to the medicine.  It has to be, right?  He’s only had two and a half doses, after spitting out half of last night’s dose.  But what if the Buspirone has something to do with it?  Could this be a sign of wonderful things to come?

I can’t just give credit to the medicine, though.  Roman has an excellent support team at school and I am eternally grateful to them.  They work with him all day long for little reward to get him to talk.  I feel bad that they cannot share in the joy I feel today as the words spill out of him.  I can only hope that he shows them all what he’s shown me.

So, I’m a happy mom today.  I’ve almost forgot about the haircut.  Almost.

This entry was posted in New Skills and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to He’s on a roll

  1. Sabine Schafer says:

    This is why I do my job! I can’t tell you how happy I am about this! Way to go Roman

  2. HeatherB says:

    That’s fantastic Allison! I hope he continues to have a great day!

  3. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand we have another one! He was reaching for his PECS book but he couldn’t get to it, so he said “book” without the “k” but it was still book!

  4. Dani G says:

    I love reading posts like this!!! Go Roman, Go!!

Leave a Reply

