Schedules, schedules


Roman is a pretty regimented guy.  This is typical of people with autism.  He has his schedule and he likes to stick to it.  Today is a bit of a challenge because he had a half day at school.  Usually, he goes all day long and has a set schedule at school for things like going to the sensory room, circle time, free play, recess and lunch.  His aide told me that he was thrown off by not eating lunch right after recess.  On the car ride home and when we arrived, he was whining because his day was thrown off.  It wasn’t until Caillou came on that he settled down.  I had to thank the PBS gods for the intervention.

But, on the positive side, we now have a new tool for helping Roman feel more secure.  Since he loves schedules so much, we’re going to use a PECS schedule for him to do his sensory activities at home, as well as for his bedtime routine.  I think he’s going to love it.

Roman's bedtime schedule. The icons go on the top strip when it's time to do each one and in the "all done" pocket after it's completed.

I think our bedtime routine is going to get even easier now.  This way, if we change the routine slightly, like adding a bath, he won’t have any issues with it.

This entry was posted in New Skills and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Schedules, schedules

  1. HeatherB says:

    I love this idea, super cute.

  2. I think it’s pretty cool too. I get all of this stuff from his school. I don’t know what I would do without the support they give me.

Leave a Reply

