Meltdown!


It’s been a rough day for the Bub.  First, he was confused by his half day at school.  Next, Eric came home early because he had a half day too, but then left for the entire evening.  Then, Rome fell asleep a little early on the couch and I had to wake him up to change him.  I couldn’t let him sleep with the smell that was emanating from his diaper.  Yes, it was that bad.

It was all he needed to trigger a major meltdown.  I know tantrums are common for children his age, especially when they’re tired.  But this one was bad.  First, he flung himself on the floor, kicking and screaming.  Pretty typical stuff.  I tried to comfort him with a snack and juice.  He wasn’t buying into it at all.  Then, the tantrum escalated.  He started throwing his body on to the couches, running across the living room from couch to couch.  Apparently, that wasn’t enough, so he started banging his head on the floor.  Thank goodness he picked the carpeted area instead of the laminate.

I tried to comfort him and got a bite for my efforts.  So, I backed off.  I tried to get him his schedule, thinking that it may calm him a little to know what was coming next.  He took it from my hands and threw it.  Okay, no schedule tonight, I decided.  But it was bedtime, and I had to get him there somehow.

I tried coaxing him.  I tried leading him.  Finally, I tried picking him up to carry him and got another bite.  Somehow, miraculously, I got him to his room and laid him in his bed.  He continued crying and screaming so hard I thought he might force himself to throw up.  But, there was nothing I could do.  I hate feeling so helpless!  I just want to cuddle him until he calms down, but he just won’t let me and I think next time he may just break the skin.

Just as I finished typing this, the crying stopped and Tycen told me that Roman fell asleep.  I hope tomorrow is a better day for him.

This entry was posted in issues and concerns and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Meltdown!

  1. Keith Leach says:

    Ouch! rough evening for you. And rough for all of you, actually. Have you seen any pattern in the triggers for these tantrums? How about anxiety or panic on his part (kinda hard to tell in the moment, I know) ? Enjoy the peace, don’t rack yourself out for answers, they’ll come. And some mommy time is def in order!

    • It happens the most when he’s overtired, overstimulated, or anxious because of his schedule being thrown off. It was like the perfect storm last night. I made the mistake of waking him up to change his nasty diaper and paid the price. But, so did he. Poor guy.

      • Keith Leach says:

        Aww, well you had to change him, no question. How is he around calming music? What would help with some children is classical music, a cool, wet washcloth wipedown on the face and head, or to play with. Sometimes with my Keith, when he was upset, I would quiet things down, even if he didn’t. I would also do silly unpredictable things like trip and mock fall or crawl in circles or roll around. He would usually stop just to try to figure out the new stimulus. And sometimes they just have to work off their anxiety, as long as they can see you’re not sharing in the panic. It’s hard to find the things that are effective because all children are so different from each other.

  2. Thanks for the ideas Keith. I will try them out next time. Hopefully I can wait awhile for that.

Leave a Reply

