Just wondering


I have explained a little about the drug trial Roman is taking part in.  We were excited for the opportunity to be included, but I also understand why parents would be hesitant.  It is, after all, a drug.  If your child was affected by a disease or disorder that could potentially be alleviated through an unapproved medicine that was in testing stages, would you do it?

Don’t hold back because you know that my son is taking part in the trial.  I am really interested in your responses.  Go ahead and comment if you want to explain further.

This entry was posted in polls. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just wondering

  1. HeatherB says:

    I don’t know if I can vote because honestly….I just don’t know. I think it would depend on a lot of factors…what disorder did he have, how was he doing without intervention, what are the side effects, etc.

    A great question, but I don’t have an answer.

  2. I totally understand what you mean Heather. I had to think about it quite a bit myself, but I just got so excited by the possibilities.

  3. Casey Warner says:

    I’m not sure. I’ve been thinking about it since you’ve been posting about this, and I just don’t know. Noah is pretty high functioning, and we’ve been anti-drug with him so far (not that anybody’s really suggested it, although his neuropsychologist did mention that at some point we might consider ADHD meds). But if it’s something that has helped other kids with similar issues, I definitely would consider it. So I didn’t vote because obviously I’m on the fence a bit…

  4. jillsmo says:

    I probably would if I had reached the point where I thought it was necessary; does that make sense? And I fully support other parents who have made this choice; there’s a lot of potential for judgment from other people but you have to do what’s best for your child, and only you know what that is. I look forward to reading about your (hopefully!) progress!

Leave a Reply

